Veliki Tabor is a castle and museum in northwest Croatia, dating from the middle of 15th century. The castle’s present appearance dates back to the 16th century.
Most of the castle was built by the Hungarian noble family of Ráttkay, in whose ownership it remained until 1793.
It is located in the region of Zagorje near Desinić, 8 km (5.0 mi) west of Pregrada, 334 m (1,096 ft) above sea level. It has around 3,340 m2(36,000 sq ft). The castle is owned by the state, which manages it as a museum and a tourist site.
The results of the conservation research and the analysis of the archaeological finds indicate that the oldest part of Veliki Tabor was built in middle of 15th century.
The oldest part of the fort centre is its central part, the pentagonal castle, whose stylistic characteristics belong to the Late Gothic period. The castle is surrounded by four semi-circular Renaissance towers connected by curtain walls and the walls of the northern entrance part. The fort centre is surrounded by the outer defence wall (the distance from the easternmost to the westernmost points being about 225 metres) with a farm office, a Renaissance bastion, two semi-circular guardhouses (northern and southern), and the quadrangular entrance tower (present only on the archaeological level) through which the access road ran.
Since 2002, Veliki Tabor has been the venue of an international festival of short films.
The castle has been undergoing renovations since 6 November 2008, and has been closed to public since. The renovation works were finished in November 2011.
SOURCE – WIKIPEDIA