THE NEHAJ FORTRESS
The fortress of Nehaj was built in 1558 on top of the Nehaj hill to protect the territories and the town of Sinj from attacks of Turks and Venetians. The construction was directed by a Croatian captain, Ivan Lencovic, and General Herbert VIII.
In construction, they used the materials from demolished houses and many other structures outside the fortress. During the construction of the fortress, there were destroyed the church and monastery of St Peter, a Templar monastery of St Juri, a church of the same name, the remains of the dismantled structures were discovered during excavations in the fortress.
The fortress has a rectangular shape and is similarly oriented in each cardinal direction. The height of the fortress walls of Nehaj is 18 meters, the width is 23 meters. The outer walls are made of conditioned stone blocks 2 to 3,3 meters thick. Nehaj has 5 towers. The walls of the fortress have over 100 gun-slots and 11 slots for cannons.
The fortress has a large courtyard and cellars. 100 warriors was enough to protect the fortress, the barracks, officer rooms and the armouries were her as well.
The fortress of Nehaj is well-preserved nowadays. The fortress is open for tourist visits. The walls of the fortress have an unforgettable view of the Adriatic coast — the isles of Rab, Goli, Prvic, the largest isles of Croatia — the isle of Krk and the isle of Cres, and of the mountain ranges — Uckа, Gorski Kotar and Velebit.
There are different events and concerts organised in the fortress of Nehaj. There is the annual festival called Knight Days in Sinj.